A Night at the Prohibition Speakeasy

That Monday afternoon in end of January this year, I received a phone call from my music buddy Nanda who asked me, “Do you want to sing at the Prohibition?” and to that I replied, “Of course.” So the day after, I went there and had my first regular gig with him, Victor Prabowo (bass) and Afirniar Mustrin (drums).

IMG_1680

I’m lucky to be sharing the stage with these talented boys. Learned a lot from them and besides sharing good vibes on stage, we also liked to goof around and have lots of fun during the break!

IMG_2131

Don’t mind the guy in the middle :p

Last month, Sachiko Asada from the famous youtube channel Senang96, came with our mutual friend, Yoichi Ikeda to see us perform. I never met Sachiko in person but we became friends on social medias after she came to Sister Duke’s show in 2012 and uploaded it on her youtube channel (you can watch the show here). So it was such a pleasure to finally meet this Japanese lady who really supports Indonesian music scene ❤ And it was also really nice to be able to reunite with Yoichi whom I last met twelve years ago!

13164202_10209219055097811_3438451324271259427_n

Thank you for coming and showing us your support!

She recorded some of the songs we performed that night and uploaded them on her youtube channel. Yoichi also took some cool photos of us on stage. It’s a good thing I made the right decision to wear slimming black dress that I got from my good friend Vitri hahahah! (Oh, I also had my nails done a couple of days before-can you see cool arts on my finger nails by two.cents? :D)

We opened the show that night with “Summertime”, one of the first jazz standards that I learned back in the days.

We also performed one of my favorite blues tunes “Moanin'”. I first encountered this song when the contestants of American Idol 2011 Haley Reinhart and Casey Abram sang it on the show.

Reminiscing back to my first moments as a band vocalist, that night we also performed Green Day’s “Basket Case”, a song that I used to sing with my first band in junior high. But it was performed with a twist!

Playing at a jazz bar, of course it don’t mean a thing if it ain’t got that swing! We also did a couple of swing tunes that night, including this soundtrack written for Irving Berlin for Fred Astaire movie “Top Hat”.

Those are four of the seven songs that Sachiko uploaded on her youtube channel. You can simply go to this playlist to see the rest.

We’ll be taking a break during the fasting month, but we’ll be back after that! So hope to see you on Tuesday nights at the Prohibition Speakeasy after the Ramadhan 😉

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 2.17.10 AM

 

Leave a Reply

